Washington, DC

This rental is located at 19th and Lamont Street, NW. The Craigslist ad says:

“$1200 3 bedrooms available in spacious, sunny Mt. Pleasant home ($800-1300)

Seeking three great additions to our new group home in Mt. Pleasant! The house is a massive, sun-filled 5-bedroom/2-bathroom historic townhouse with a shared living room, dining room, entry hall, kitchen, and a lovely back patio/garden. The location is unbeatable — it’s just blocks away from historic Mt. Pleasant, with grocery stores, restaurants, a farmer’s market, and Rock Creek Park.

We are two women in our late 20s and a small dog, excited to fill the house with plants, art, good food, and conversation. We are relaxed, clean, drama-free, and default to open communication. We value social, community-living, but also are independent and respectful of each other’s space. This is not a party house, but we wholly welcome gatherings of friends, dinners, potlucks, BBQs, etc.

We are looking for housemates who are independent, clean, friendly, and who care about collectively building a home together. We are hoping to have a mix gendered household, but are open to anyone who is the right fit. Ideally, you are in your late 20s and 30s with experience living in group homes.

About us:

J: California-native working in media. Recently moved to DC from Latin America where she was living for 6+ years working as a freelance video journalist and documentary filmmaker. Likes to bike, rock climb, dance salsa, experiment in the kitchen, see live music, host dinners, and spend time outside.

L (+dog): Marketing/communications coordinator at a legal aid nonprofit, originally from New England but has lived in D.C. since attending the Corcoran in 2011. Enjoys biking, gardening, cooking, listening to comedy podcasts, taking hardcore spin classes, and having friends over for extravagant cheese plates. Owner/protégé of Sophie, a ~20 pound lazy dog who enjoys sleeping, sniffing out crumbs, and hiding the occasional bone. Sophie is a rescue dog who loves people but unfortunately does not do well with other animals, so no additional pets will be allowed.

About the rooms:

2nd Floor: 3 bd/1b
– Bedroom 1: cozy and small (7 x 13 ½ ft.) – $800
– Bedroom 2: big (11×22 ft.) with a lot of light – $1,200
– Bedroom 3: occupied by L and her dog

3rd Floor: 2 bd/1b
-Bedroom 4: huge with street view (12×19 ft.) – $1,300
-Bedroom 5: occupied by J

Other details:
– Ceiling fans
– Central AC/heat

Rental Details
– Utilities not included (around $90 p/p, including monthly house cleaning)
– Security deposit = same cost as rent

Dealbreakers:
-Xenophobia / racism / homophobia / transphobia / bigotry
-Smoking
-Other pets
-Sharing with a partner/friend

The owner lives in the separate basement apartment with two small dogs, is quiet and respectful, and travels often. She requires an application fee of $40 for a background/reference check.

Please tell us a little about yourself and what you’re looking for in a home.

Looking forward to hearing from you!”

Ed. Note: PoPville is not affiliated with any rental properties. Rent at your own risk and proceed with caution as you would with all Craigslist listings.

×

Subscribe to our mailing list