Washington, DC

WMATA writes:

“We’re giving you a first look at the New Metro System Map. The map features the Rush Plus enhancements that will take place June 18, 2012.”

See the map larger in PDF below:


More from WMATA:

“Metro today unveiled a new system map to reflect enhanced rush hour service—called Rush Plus—beginning June 18.

Rush Plus is an expansion of rush hour service that will result in additional trains between Mt. Vernon Square and Greenbelt, and between Vienna and Court House, as well as new transfer-free travel opportunities between stations on several lines. Rush Plus is designed to ease crowding, improve the commuting experience for Metrorail riders on the Orange, Blue, Green and Yellow lines, and prepare for the future Silver Line.

Here is an overview of Rush Plus:

• During each rush hour period, 18 new Orange Line trains — three per hour in each direction — will operate between Vienna and Largo Town Center.
• Every third existing Blue Line train (three trains per hour in each direction) will now operate between Franconia-Springfield and Greenbelt via the Yellow Line bridge. These trains will be identified as Yellow Line trains. As a result, customers at Franconia-Springfield, Van Dorn Street and the nine stations north of Mt. Vernon Square will have new transfer-free trip options between certain stations.”


Subscribe to our mailing list