Washington, DC


“Dear PoPville,

We’re subletting a room in Shaw. Just a group of credible, non-pyscho craigslisters searching for a temporary roommate. Missed highlights in the craigslist post:

This room has a pillow loft, accessible via drop down ladder. Perfect for lazy lobster afternoons. Pies. We make a lot of pies. Please eat our pies. We’re all 5’2. Are you tall? That’d be great. There’s a lot of hard to reach shit that we haven’t touched in months.”


The craigslist ad says:

“$1250 – 1 Sun-filled Furnished Master BR in Beautiful Shaw Rowhouse – Aug-Nov

Large, ​fully-furnished, ​sun-filled master bedroom & full bath available for sublet in a row house in Shaw/Bloomingdale. Room available for the fall — ideally from early August to mid-November, but can be flexible. Room is $1250/month including utilities. ​Perfect for a grad student in DC for the semester or someone new to the city and looking for a short-term place while you transition.

The Room: Gorgeous, sun-filled master bedroom with its own full bathroom, ridiculously high ceilings and great natural light. Room is on the top floor facing the street, with tons of windows and a skylight in the bathroom. ​Comes furnished with a ridiculously comfortable queen bed, nightstands, bookshelf, desk, dresser, armoir and large closet with tons of hanging space.

The House: The room is in a beautiful, 3-story row house on the border of Shaw/Bloomingdale. We have the entire unit, with 3 bedrooms upstairs, one in the basement, and a large living room and kitchen on the ground floor. Foosball table in the living room and a full wet bar in the basement. Washer/dryer in basement. Cable TV (including HBO) and ChromeCast for all your Netflix streaming needs. Alarm system and fully secured doors/windows. We have a cat named Juno who is the greatest cat in the world (we don’t even like cats).

The Location: Doesn’t get better. Four blocks from the Shaw/Howard Metro station, three blocks from bars/restaurants in Shaw, three blocks from Big Bear Café and the Bloomingdale Farmer’s Market, and a short walk from U Street bars and restaurants. Across the street from Beau Thai. Drunk drunken noodles are just a stumble away. Very bike/bikeshare/bus/unicycle friendly.

The Roommates: Three mid-20s ladies, originally from the DC area. We’ve been living in this house for almost 2 years and absolutely love it. We are clean but not obsessive. We go out on weekends, but mostly stay in on school nights so we can make it to our respective 9-5 cubicle jobs. We work in marketing, real estate, and PR/politics. We like to pretend to cook but mostly suck at it. On weekends, we go to concerts, eat at restaurants we can’t afford, drink too much wine, and jaunt around DC on our bikes. We travel. We watch the Bachelorette (not in the ironic way).

Me: I’m going to the west coast to work a congressional campaign for a few months, but will be back in November. I can be flexible with move-in/out dates to accommodate your schedule.

You: Guy or girl. Mid-20s or non-creepy 30something. Funny. Chill. Has shit at least mostly together. Respectful of others’ space and things. Will not steal roommate’s string cheese from fridge in midnight snack binge. But also w​on’t mind when we do the same to you. Good at foosball. Don’t smoke crack.

Interested? Email us. Why do you want to live in our super sweet house? What are your thoughts on the artisan toast trend? Would you rather have spaghetti for hair or cheeto fingers? What is your spirit animal?”


Subscribe to our mailing list