“DPR Announces 2016 Indoor Pools Maintenance Closures Schedule”

swimming
Photo by PoPville flickr user Caroline Angelo

Heads up indoor swimmers – from DPR:

Today, the DC Department of Parks and Recreation (DPR) released the 2016 Fall/Winter Indoor Pools Maintenance closure schedule.

DPR’s indoor, year-round aquatic centers will undergo yearly scheduled maintenance to deep clean the pool and facility.  Pools will temporarily close in phases, beginning on Sunday, October 9, 2016.

Barry Farm, Ferebee-Hope, Marie Reed and Therapeutic pools will not close/undergo maintenance. During each respective closure, all programs, permits and classes will be suspended at that particular facility. Please contact the Aquatics Division (202-671-1289) if you have any questions or require further assistance.
INDOOR POOLS CLOSURE SCHEDULE

  • H.D. Woodson Aquatic Center (540 55th Street, NE | Ward 7) will close beginning Sunday, October 9 through Sunday, October 16, 2016. The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, October 17, 2016.
  • Turkey Thicket Aquatic Center (1100 Michigan Ave., NE | Ward 5) will close beginning Sunday, November 13 through Sunday, November 20, 2016. The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, November 21, 2016.
  • Takoma Aquatic Center (300 Van Buren St., NW | Ward 4) will close beginning Sunday, November 20 through Sunday, November 27, 2016.  The facility is expected to re-open on Sunday, Monday, November 28, 2016.
  • William H. Rumsey Aquatic Center (635 North Carolina Ave., SE | Ward 6) will close beginning Sunday, November 27 through Sunday, December 25, 2016. The facility is expected to re-open on Tuesday, December 27, 2016.
  • Dunbar Aquatic Center (101 N Street, NW – Ward 5) will close beginning Monday, December 26 through Tuesday, January 3, 2017. The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, January 2, 2017.
  • Deanwood Aquatic Center (1350 – 49th St., NE | Ward 7) will close beginning Tuesday, January 10 through Sunday, January 22, 2017.  The facility is expected to re-open on Monday, January 23, 2017.
  • Wilson Aquatic Center (4551 Fort Dr., NW | Ward 3) will close beginning Tuesday, January 31 through Monday, February 27, 2017.  The facility is expected to re-open on Tuesday, February 28, 2017.
  • Please note that re-open dates may be subject to change, should any unforeseen maintenance issues occur.

    Patrons will be notified if a facility’s re-open date will be delayed.”

    3 Comment

    • Why don’t they clean the indoor pools during the summer when there are a bunch of outdoor pools people could use?

      • I was wondering the same exact thing.

      • Because the indoor pools are just as crowded in the summer. Outdoor pools aren’t open in the early morning when many people work out, and they have limited lap swimming when they are open. So, if you swim to work out, you tend to go to the indoor pools.

    Comments are closed.