28°Partly Cloudy

Reader Request Monday Afternoon Rental Option “Eccentric English Basement Edition”

by Prince Of Petworth November 24, 2014 at 3:00 pm 42 Comments

bdale_rent

$1005 Spacious English Basement Room Available ASAP!:

“Spacious BEAUTIFUL wonderful AMAZING English basement room with full bathroom and private entry available for rent in Bloomingdale/Shaw ASAP. The lease terms are month to month but we are looking for someone who will move in now until April or longer. The renter (you?!) would share the large, newly renovated row house with three fun-loving 25/26 year-old professional females who are sort of mostly adults. We’re looking for a lady. Rent is $1,005.00 and utilities are not included (standard: water, cable, electric, alarm). Can come furnished or not.

You can see more photos here.

The Room: The large, quirky bedroom is located in the English basement of an amazing row house and has two private entryways in the front and back of the basement. I’m planning on selling all the furniture you see in this photo but can negotiate selling it all or some to you at a really reasonable price. Will leave the rug unless you request I remove–it’s very soft and wonderful, especially during these cold winter months. And. . . what am I going to do with a rug anyways? Wear it as a coat?? MAYBE! I don’t even think I have the upper body strength to roll it up. Large closet with tons of storage. Located on the same floor as the washer/dryer so you have no excuse not to do your laundry. This can either be good or make you realize just how lazy you really are. Ceilings are a bit low in some places so if you’re on the taller-side, Sasquatch, you might want to come check it out for yourself–it’s perfect for me (5’5 . . . ok 5’4).

The House: The room is in a beautiful, 3-story row house on the border of Shaw/Bloomingdale. We have the entire unit, with 3 bedrooms upstairs, one in the basement (yours), and a large living room and kitchen on the ground floor. 3 full bathrooms total. Foosball table in the living room and a full wet bar in the basement. Washer/dryer in basement. Cable TV (including HBO). The INTERNET! Oh yeah and a PILLOW LOFT LOUNGE!

The Location: Doesn’t get better. Four blocks from the Shaw/Howard Metro station, three blocks from bars/restaurants in Shaw, three blocks from Big Bear Café and the Bloomingdale Farmer’s Market, and a short walk from U Street bars and restaurants. Across the street from Beau Thai. Drunk drunken noodles are just a stumble away. Very bike/bikeshare/bus/unicycle friendly–25 steps from bike share.

The Roommates: Three mid-20s ladies, originally from the DC area. We’ve been living in this house for almost 2 years and absolutely love it. We are clean but not obsessive. We go out on weekends, but mostly stay in on school nights so we can make it to our respective 9-5 cubicle jobs. We work in marketing, real estate, and PR/politics. We like to pretend to cook but mostly suck at it. On weekends, we go to concerts, eat at restaurants we can’t afford, drink too much wine, and jaunt around DC on our bikes. We watch the Bachelorette (not in the ironic way) and group text about it. We love Beyonce and indie music and enjoy hosting the occasional party or Friendsgiving. Two of us are single so we’ll go out with you in search of love or watch Love Actually through our tears and binge eat ice cream. It’s whatevs.

You: Lady. We had a male sub letter whom we AB-SO-LUTE-LY ADORED* but the Monday night football got in the way of more important shows (*cough* Bravo. JK I’m the only one who watched Bravo and I’m leaving). Mid-20s or non-creepy 30something. Funny. Chill. Has shit at least mostly together. Respectful of others’ space and things. Will not steal roommate’s string cheese from fridge in midnight snack binge. But also won’t mind when we do the same to you. Good at foosball. Doesn’t smoke crack. Either wants to be friends or just wants to be friendly. Hasn’t just “tried a little” crack.

*NAME THAT MOVIE FOR BONUS POINTS

Interested? Email us. Tell us about yourself and why you want to live in our super sweet house and let me know if you have any questions.

Amenities:
• Two car Garage (Woohoo! Super rare!) and readily available street parking
• Close proximity to many restaurants and bars
• 7 minute walk to Shaw metro (green/yellow lines)
• Alarm security system
• Security bars on windows and doors
• Washer/dryer
• HVAC system
• Built in friends who will always want to hang out with you and do fun things. Or not we’re not clingy or anything. Ignore me I don’t even go here anymore.”

×

Subscribe to our mailing list