Email signup

2014 RAMMY Award Winners Announced by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington

Photo by PoPville flickr user jmorrow

From a press release:

“Top foodservice industry professionals and their fans gathered last night at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center for the 32nd Annual RAMMY Awards as Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) announced winners in 20 award categories. To keep up with metropolitan Washington’s quickly evolving dining scene, new this year were seven award categories, celebrating brunches, service programs, mixology and other definitive aspects of the greater Washington’s restaurant and foodservice industry.

The selection process for the winners involved two esteemed groups, the voting public and a panel of volunteer judges, consisting of food and dining journalists, educators and foodservice industry professionals who remained anonymous to the public as well as each other through the judging process. The voting public decided the winners in four categories: Favorite Gathering Place of the Year, Upscale Brunch, Everyday Casual Brunch and Favorite Fast Bites.

The winners of the 32nd Annual RAMMY Awards are:

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: Fiola

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year: Ripple

Everyday Casual Restaurant of the Year: Toki Underground

New Restaurant of the Year: The Red Hen

Chef of the Year: Haidar Karoum, Doi Moi, Estadio, Proof

Rising Culinary Star of the Year: Michael Friedman, The Red Hen

Pastry Chef of the Year: Caitlin Dysart, 2941 Restaurant

Wine Program of the Year: Ripple

Cocktail Program of the Year***: Jack Rose Dining Saloon

Beer Program of the Year***: Birch and Barley / ChurchKey

Service Program of the Year***: Blue Duck Tavern

Restaurateur of the Year: Michael Babin, Neighborhood Restaurant Group

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year***: Red Apron Butcher

Favorite Gathering Place of the Year: Hank’s Oyster Bar – Dupont Circle

Upscale Casual Brunch***: Mintwood Place

Everyday Casual Brunch***: Pearl Dive Oyster Palace

Favorite Fast Bites***: Amsterdam Falafelshop

Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year: ProFish, Ltd.

Employee of the Year: Stelios Alexandris, 1789 Restaurant

Manager of the Year: Boo Young Kim, District Commons

***Denotes a new award in 2014″

Recent Stories

Photo by Emma K Alexandra You can talk about whatever is on your mind – quality of life issues, a beautiful tree you spotted, scuttlebutt, or any random questions/thoughts you…

Thanks to Sara for sharing. I’ve been getting many messages from folks asking where they can attend one.

Sweet City Ride

Thanks to Andrew for sending this “Caddy El Dorado” from near H Street, NE. Sweet City Ride is made possible by readers like you! Email your finds to [email protected]

“Dear PoPville, They are out every day and think that the jail next door is secretly taking the bodies from January 6th rioters and in middle of night burying them…


Subscribe to our mailing list