Renter’s Insurance

Home Forums General Discussion Renter’s Insurance

Topic: Renter’s Insurance

General Discussion December 6, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Renter’s Insurance

Considering the uptick in breakins in the area I feel like it’s a good idea to finally get renter’s insurance. Anyone have any experiences with companies they love? How much do you pay? Have you ever had to make any claims? What’s covered in plans? Any advice would be much appreciated!

10 Replies Add Reply

I am actually a Insurance Broker and work with a number of different companies including Travelers, Encompass, Progressive , Chubb . We can provide you with multiple quotes for Renters or a Package Policy ( which is cheaper ).
Give us a call and ask for Hedda Silverman- She is wonderful!

I use State Farm with an add on for electronics. It’s been super easy and I’ve modified my coverage without hassle to cover 2 people when my girlfriend and I combined policies. Though, if you have car insurance, usually renter’s is easy to tack on with little cost.

I also used State Farm when I was a renter and thus got a discount when I bought and got homeowner’s insurance. yes, it’s a good idea. I got it after my bike was stolen the first time.

I’ve had State Farm renters for ever. I got it when I still had a car & car insurance. I think it’s like 150 a year. I’ve never had to use it, so I don’t know if it’s a hassle or not.
But like @kaylee up there, I probably need to go over my coverage and up it since I’ve had the same coverage for quite a few years. My agent is Steve Rose in Rockville (since I first moved to Rockvilee before DC) and his office has been very helpful.

I’ve got Travelers coverage, who works in conjunction with Geico. I got a discount for going through Geico, and I beleive $50K worth of coverage for something like $135/year. It was a painless process working with an agent, and was all done in about 10-15 minutes.