New to city bike riding

Home Forums Travel and Transportation New to city bike riding

Topic: New to city bike riding

Travel and Transportation May 22, 2012 at 2:31 pm

New to city bike riding

I finally decided to get a Capital Bikeshare membership. Though I am not new to riding a bike, I am new to riding a bike in a city. I have a helmet and plan to try to stick to bike lanes as much as possible, but any other tips?

10 Replies Add Reply

Don’t hesistate to take the lane if you feel the need to.

Ditto on the take your lane. If on a road with no bike lane that feels narrow, take the full lane and let the driver behind you worry about it. One of the more dangerous things to do in city biking is trying to hug the edge of the road so that drivers feel comfortable whizzing by you. By taking you lane, you largely eliminate that problem and the only way the car can pass you is if no car is coming in the other direction, thus the driver has plenty of room to swerve around you.

WABA also offers classes on city biking. I’d also recommend doing some riding on the weekends when there is less traffic to increase your confidence.

WABA is a good place to start. I’ll also add the best advice I found on WABA was to maintain a straight line while passing rows of parallel parked cars, don’t move to the side of the street just because there’s no parked car there, as drivers will misperceive your attempt to get around the next parked car you pass. At night, LED lights are a must (especially as I’m always prone to wearing dark colors)!!