Has anyone hired day laborers fromt the Home Depot parking lot?

Home Forums Home and Garden Has anyone hired day laborers fromt the Home Depot parking lot?

Topic: Has anyone hired day laborers fromt the Home Depot parking lot?

Home and Garden June 6, 2012 at 11:12 am

Has anyone hired day laborers fromt the Home Depot parking lot?

Help!  I started painting a large room and hurt my back.  I’m thinking of hiring a couple of the guys looking for work in front of Home Depot to finish the job.  Has anyone done this?   I don’t speak Spanish…

12 Replies Add Reply

I’ve used them on numerous occasions, but I speak Spanish. I have only used them as unskilled labor. Some may have various construction skills, but I would not put too much trust in that. I’ve used them to dig holes, landscape, demo work, etc. I would not recommend using them for detail work. Basically use them for grunt work or as a helping hand. I usually pay them around $10/hr and they’ve been happy with that. Sometimes I tip a bit if they do a really good job. I would not let them do anything inside your house where they might get a look at what you have. On the inside, I’ve used them only for demo work and painting in my basement. Other than that, it has been outside work, building a fence, etc. Also, decide ahead of time how many you need. I usually get just one and work with them one on one. When you pull up, be prepared to be swarmed. Pick one that looks younger and healthy, and tell all the ones that swarm you that you need just one. Also, when you pull up, keep your doors locked and only let the one you pick in. Once I pulled up, and a bunch tried to hop in my car! I had to tell them I just wanted one and make them leave.