DC rent increase

Home Forums Governement and Politics DC rent increase

Topic: DC rent increase

Governement and Politics March 7, 2013 at 12:06 pm

DC rent increase

I know that there is a cap on how much my landlord can increase my rent (I believe it is currently at 5.6% for non elderly/non disabled tenents). I am a DC resident in a small apartment building.
But my question is, does that cap only apply if BOTH my roommate and I are staying in the apartment?  She is moving out, and I am staying and signing a new lease with a new roommate.  Since I have been living in this apartment, does the 5.6% cap still apply?  Or since I am signing a new lease with a new person, can they spring a larger than 5.6% increase on me?
thanks!

5 Replies Add Reply

TT

I’m not certain of the answer to your question, but keep in mind that not all apartments are rent-controlled.  The most common exceptions from the rent-control regs are:

Federally or District-subsidized rental units,
 Rental units built after 1975,
 Rental units (including condominium or cooperative units) owned by a natural person who
owns no more than four rental units, provided the rental units are registered as exempt,
 Rental units that were vacant when the Act took effect, and
 Housing accommodations under a building improvement plan and receiving rehabilitation
assistance through DCHD.

See http://och.georgetown.edu/uploadedfiles/rentcontrolfactsheet0409.pdf

I am nearly 100% certain that this building does fall under DC rent-control, it was mentioned when I originally moved in a few years ago.

reading the pamphlet you linked to, it seems like the cap is still in affect since I am staying in the apartment and there isn’t a fully “vacant apartment” at any time.

hope that is the case! thanks