Any success with non-religious officiants for DC weddings?

Home Forums General Discussion Any success with non-religious officiants for DC weddings?

Topic: Any success with non-religious officiants for DC weddings?

General Discussion June 26, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Any success with non-religious officiants for DC weddings?

I’m getting married this Fall and would love to have my brother perform the wedding ceremony.

We’re willing to fill out the paperwork and get notarized letters, and are working to find someone to sponsor him through ULC or The Monastery.

However, before we go ahead with all the hassle – has this worked for anyone recently? I have seen a lot of posts with people asking for help for the same problem. I just have not seen much follow up.

If no-one has been successful, we will just go ahead and do a JOP ceremony before our planned wedding. It would be great to hear feedback/ success stories though!

9 Replies Add Reply

I am a wedding photographer and I photographed a wedding in May where my clients were able to get their friend from California to officiate their ceremony. They did not find out about the approval though until about a week before the wedding so always had a back-up plan of course.

Thanks, @caphill324 ! Do you know what church their friend got ordained through?

I’d love information on this as well, hoping to have my father marry my fiancĂ© and I this fall. Sounds like PoPville has come through in the past (, hopefully it can again!

@adlohr It was through the Universal Life Society. Good luck!

I’m in the same boat, getting married next Spring but in Alexandria. Virginia does not recognize people ordained online, they do have a one day allowance to marry but only for VA residents and the person we’d like to officiate is not. If anyone has had any luck in this department I’d love to hear it!