Happy Passover!

Photo by PoPville flickr user idit.

Happy Passover to my fellow members of the tribe out in PoPville. Though in a cruel twist of fate this is also the start of Craft Brewers Week. So if you don’t observe, I highly recommend hitting the Dogfish Head tap takeover tonight at Smoke and Barrel. Check out the full week’s craft brewers conference schedule here. Hag Samaech and happy wine and beer drinking to all!

7 Comment

  • So if you’re Jewish, no beer this week? Bear with a country Catholic – I’ve heard of “Kosher for Passover” – does that apply to all foods? Or just ones with grain/yeast in them? (beer’s got plenty of both, of course.) What’s the basic outline of the typical food routine if you’re a practicing Jewish person?


    • Chag sameach, PoPville!!

      Good questions, Anonymous. “Kosher for Passover” cannot pertain to foods that still have yeast, other rising ingredients in it over Passover, and therefore, beer will not be imbibed by those observing this week. Plenty of Kosher for Passover wine will be consumed though. 🙂

      Basic outline is a good question, which I’d be happy to answer but it all depends on the person. 🙂 As a self-described country Catholic, and assuming you’ll celebrate Easter, happy Easter!

    • it depends on how strictly observant someone is – some folks will only use products (other than fresh fruits and veggies) certified as kosher for passover – others will just avoid things made with grains and yeast. And of course some Jews who hold seders don’t observe the dietary laws at all.

      • My brother drank beer instead of wine at my mother’s seder last night, so my family isn’t very observant.

    • It also depends on if you’re following Ashkenazi or Sephardic traditions – they have different interpretations of what is and is not considered kosher for Passover. Honestly, Wikipedia might be your best intro if you’re interested in more (but not too much more) explanation.

    • The very basic outline is that anything made with wheat, barley, rye, spelt, or oats and has undergone any sort of leavening/rising or fermenting is not allowed during Passover. Matzoh is ok since it’s made with just water and flour, and is baked within 18 minutes of the two coming into contact so there’s no chance for it to rise. There are other kosher for Passover grain products made with similar steps to prevent leavening.

      Some groups (typically Jews of Eastern European descent) will include a longer list of grains, seeds, and beans (like corn, peas, peanuts, soybeans, and others) because of they were traditionally grown, processed, and used in the same manner as the core prohibited grains. That’s why you’ll sometimes see Kosher for Passover soda sweetened with cane sugar instead of corn syrup, and why many who don’t observe Passover stock up on those yellow-capped bottles this time of year!

      Anyway, when you see foods labeled “Kosher for Passover,” it generally means that (a) they don’t contain any of the prohibited items, and (b) have been certified to have been produced in a facility that has been properly cleaned of those prohibited items. Since not all who observe Passover follow the same rules, some items have a “Consult your rabbi” warning on them.

      Beer, by definition, is grain that has been fermented, so is a no-go. Wine, however, is allowed.

Comments are closed.